Chesapeake Bay Fishing Forecast: Spring 2019

Another season of fly and light tackle fishing on Virginia’s saltwater is about to begin. Nineteen years in the fishing charter business have flown by with countless fishing memories. I’m ready to create another chapter in my Chesapeake Bay guiding saga this season.

Mid-April through May is trophy time for large striped bass and red drum. When conditions are right, we sight cast to schools of monster reds and striper in shallow water using my tower boat. Cobia become the main trophy fish target starting in June and lasting until the end of September. Sight casting to cruising cobia in the open bay waters will test your angling skill and mental strength. My trophy charters are not for the faint of heart; experienced anglers, however, can be rewarded with the fish of a lifetime!

The shallows of the Middle Peninsula and Northern Neck come alive with bait and gamefish by June. We will target schoolie rockfish, speckled trout and redfish around shallow structure until early November. This is my bread-n-butter fishery with very consistent catches in just about any weather condition. With a mild winter, I’m expecting speck and puppy drum numbers to rebound after a dismal season for them last year.

Please remember that I stay extremely busy during the fishing season, so contact me as soon as possible to reserve a fun day on the bay!